Healing hands

This time I cannot promise that my post makes any sense, or at least deeper sense (as usual). I simply promised to publish pictures of my hands on my blog, which my colleague Johannes Hieslmair made, who is currently writing his Master’s thesis in the context of Machine Vision.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Nothing more to say, actually?

As I am sitting here, I am wondering about quite a few stories that the hand pictures might be able to tell.

One of them is told by the gesture of crossing middle and ring fingers. It is a gesture that I started making a lot, unconsciously, ever since I started belly dancing. You may never take these two fingers apart, because they are supposed to hold your veil (even if you dance without it). It’s my story of rediscovering and learning to love the softer, more feminine part of me again, after having gone through childhood full of divorces and violence against women, after having gone through a male dominated education, several male dominated jobs, and the assimilation that goes with it. But that story is still being written, so I’ll let go for now.

One other story that comes to mind is that of healing hands… well, of feeling hands at least. I am having sort of a coming-out now as I am telling you that I’m gifted (or maybe rather cursed) with the ability to feel human auras with my hands. You may feel tempted to brand me as an esoteric nutcase after that statement, but it’s true. I feel it all the time, and it’s there. And because it’s there, I cannot ignore it. And because I cannot ignore it, I am restless all the time. Being a methodically thinking researcher and having supernatural sensations is quite a bit of a contradiction, and I’m aware of that. But it’s also cool. Being aware that science is never finished, realizing how intangible truth really is, gives you a view on life that is amazing. You cannot go wrong. Life is a journey, and whatever you do, it is full of promise.

Leave a Reply

